Review: Dreams and Shadows by C. Robert Cargill

image.jpg

by: C. Robert Cargill

464 pages

 Something is missing from Ewan and Colby’s lives. Residing in the corners of their memories is their time in Limestone Kingdom, a realm filled with magic and mystery, a world where only some may travel amongst the menagerie of mystical souls and sinister demons.

Cargill offers well-crafted characters and an absorbing, intricate plot that will appeal to fans of Neil Gaiman and Lev Grossman. Dreams and Shadows pulls you into an extraordinary universe of darkness that exposes the magic and monsters in our world, and in ourselves.

 I started this story back in November. Yes, it took me forever to read but not because it was slow or boring. The opening is a fascinating hook about two people in love and that conceives a baby, but it ends in tragedy when the baby is stolen and replaced with a changeling. The unfortunate sequence of events set the book in a fast-paced motion that never lets up.

It's a tale of friendship, loss, hope, and love that defies space and time.

...oh, and fairies.

What I enjoyed most about Dreams and Shadows is the way the fairies are portrayed. Disney has been telling us forever that fairies are nice, magical creatures. In Robert Cargill's story he tells us only the latter is true. Fairies are magical alright, and they're scary and sadistic too.

I read this book through my subscription to Scribd. You can also check the book out here:

Amazon/Kobo/ITunes/BN 

Have you read it? Leave a comment and let me know what you thought about it.